The page cannot be displayed because you are using Internet Explorer version 8 or lower.

Please consider upgrading your browser here

We use cookies on this website. By using the website you accept our use of cookies. Accept


1969 - Marie and August Krogh Prize awarded for the first time

The Organization of Danish Medical Societies (then Danish Medical Society) wishes to commemorate its 50th anniversary by inaugurating an international lecture and prize and contacts the Novo Foundation to determine whether the Foundation is willing to fund such a lecture. The Foundation agrees and establishes the Marie and August Krogh Prize [link] (then  called the August Krogh Prize). The question of why the prize honours Novo’s major competitor, August Krogh, remains a mystery. Nobel laureate Hugo Theorell (photo) from Sweden gives the first lecture. The Prize is accompanied by DKK 10,000, which has been increased four times and is now DKK 250,000.