The page cannot be displayed because you are using Internet Explorer version 8 or lower.

Please consider upgrading your browser here

We use cookies on this website. By using the website you accept our use of cookies. Accept


Honorary Symposium for Bodil Schmidt-Nielsen

The symposium will be held at the Novo Nordisk Foundation on September 16, 2016


Honorary Symposium for Bodil Schmidt-Nielsen

Bodil Schmidt-Nielsen was an eminent physiologist who carried out pioneering work in many fields. In particular, Bodil Schmidt-Nielsen devoted her research career to understand the regulation of the water balance and urine-concentrating mechanism in different species. Bodil Schmidt-Nielsen’s work and discoveries greatly inspired many people, and she maintained strong relationships with scientists all over the world for most of her life.


  • Lise Bankir
  • William H. Dantzler
  • Robert A. Fenton
  • Martin Frank
  • Boye L. Jensen
  • Mark A. Knepper
  • Nanna MacAulay
  • Søren Nielsen
  • Stine F. Pedersen
  • Jeff M. Sands
  • Tobias Wang

Due to personal circumstances, Peter M. Cala has unfortunately been prevented from attending the symposium.


  • Jens Christian Djurhuus
  • Jørgen Frøkiær
  • Erik Hviid Larsen
  • Arvid B. Maunsbach
  • Søren Nielsen
  • Rikke Nørgaard
  • Jeff M. Sands
  • Christian Aalkjær

Who can attend

The symposium is open to participants of all career levels from student to professor.

Apply to participate

Applications must be submitted using the Foundation’s online application system, which can be accessed here.
The application deadline is August 22, 2016, 12:00 (CET).

If you already have a user for fund or conference application, you can login to the system using this user account.

When completing the application, you must agree to the Foundation’s standards for use of personal information. When clicking yes, you agree that the Novo Nordisk Foundation can store your personal information in the application system.

In order to send in an application, you will be asked to provide a motivated application of max 2000 characters.

When asked if you wish to bring a poster, please select 'no', as a poster session will not be part of this symposium.



Registration and breakfast


Niels-Henrik von Holstein-Rathlau, Novo Nordisk Foundation, Denmark


Jørgen Frøkiær, Aarhus University, Denmark
Introductory comments


Mark A. Knepper, National Institutes of Health, United States
Systems biology of the urinary concentrating mechanism


William H. Dantzler, University of Arizona, United States
Urine concentrating process in the mammalian renal inner medulla: integration of three-dimensional architecture with regional and segmental characteristics of the thin limbs of Henle’s loops


Coffee break


Søren Nielsen, Aalborg University, Denmark
Renal aquaporins and urinary concentration


Jeff M. Sands, Emory University, United States
Urea transporters: Implications for therapy of NDI


Robert A. Fenton, Aarhus University, Denmark
Hormonal regulation of the kidney distal tubule; implications for blood pressure modulation


Lunch break


Martin Frank, American Physiological Society, United States
Bodil Schmidt-Nielsen  –  1st woman president of American Physiological Society


Tobias Wang, Aarhus University, Denmark
Kidney function and temperature regulation on the savanna and in the desert


Lise Bankir, Inserm, France
Possible role of AQP3 and ENac in regulating the urea/sodium ratio in the urine


Coffee break


Boye L. Jensen, University of Southern Denmark, Denmark
Role of proteolytic activation of ENaC in hypertension-data from translational studies                        


Stine F Pedersen, University of Copenhagen, Denmark
Increased acid extrusion as an adaptation driving cancer progression     


Nanna MacAulay, University of Copenhagen, Denmark
Brain water transport – Can we learn from kidney physiology?


Jørgen Frøkiær, Aarhus University, Denmark
Closing comments