The page cannot be displayed because you are using Internet Explorer version 8 or lower.

Please consider upgrading your browser here

We use cookies on this website. By using the website you accept our use of cookies. Accept


Novo Nordisk Foundation Cluster Lectures - series 1

The Novo Nordisk Foundation Cluster Lectures are a series of open lectures for all researchers and other interested in and around the Copenhagen area. The first lecture on 21 January 2016 features two Novo Nordisk Foundation Laureate Grant awardees: Steven Goldman (left) and Michael J. Davies (right).


Novo Nordisk Foundation Cluster Lectures 2016 - Series 1


The Novo Nordisk Foundation Cluster Lectures are a series of open lectures for all researchers and other interested in and around the Copenhagen area. Every 4 weeks, on a Thursday evening, you are invited to Tuborg Havnevej for lectures by 2 high level researchers with a general interest for the Novo Nordisk Foundation Research Centers. Often there will be a cross-disciplinary theme. This first lecture will be given by 2 Novo Nordisk Foundation Laureate Grant recipients. 


16:00 Introduction of the speakers

16:10 Key-note speaker Steve Goldman, "Replacing cells in the adult brain"

Steve Goldman is Novo Nordisk Foundation Laureate Grant recipient, Professor of Neuroscience and Neurology, and Co-Director of the Center for Basic and Translational Neuroscience, University of Copenhagen Faculty of Health and Medical Sciences

16:40 Q&A session

16:50 Key-note speaker Mike Davies, "How fast and how much ? - The importance of quantitative data in biology"

Mike Davies is Novo Nordisk Foundation Laureate Grant recipient and Professor of Oxidative Biology of Proteins at the University of Copenhagen

17:20 Q&A session

17:30  Networking in the Atrium with a drink and a bite

18:30 Thank you for a splendid end of day!



Registration is free of charge, but mandatory. Please register via our eventpage on Eventbrite



What are my transport/parking options getting to the event?

You can park for free in front or at the side of Tuborg Havnevej 19. If that is full, there is 3 hours free parking in the parking to the Waterfront shopping mall at the end of the road.

Public transport by train to Hellerup station, and/or bus (1A, 21, 166), nearest by bus stop is Tuborg Boulevard.

Where can I contact the organizer with any questions?

Contact Sophie Labrosse at



Prof. Michael Davies was educated at the University of York, UK. He worked at the University of York and subsequently at the Heart Research Institute, Sydney, Australia where he served as Deputy Director, and then Director, before moving to the Panum Institute, University of Copenhagen, Denmark in 2014 after being awarded a Novo Nordisk Laureate Grant.

He is Editor-in-Chief of Free Radical Research, an Editor of Biochemical Journal and an Associate Editor of Photochemistry and Photobiology and is a member of many Editorial Boards. He has previously served as President of the International Society for Free Radical Research, the Australasian Society for Free Radical Research and as a Vice-President of the International EPR Society.

His research is focussed on kinetic and mechanistic studies of protein modification by reactive species (e.g. radicals, two-electron oxidants, reactive sugars and carbonyls) and their role in disease. He has published over 300 papers, written one monograph, edited 8 books and holds a number of active patents.

He is also involved in the development of methods to prevent protein damage, and is a co-Director and major shareholder in a small spin-off company.

Dr. Steven A. Goldman is Professor of Neuroscience and Neurology at the University of Copenhagen, and Co-Director of its Center for Basic and Translational Neuroscience, as well as a consultant neurologist at Rigshospitalet, the Copenhagen University Hospital. In addition, he holds a concurrent appointment as the URMC Distinguished Professor of Neuroscience and Neurology at the University of Rochester Medical Center, where he co-directs its Center for Translational Neuromedicine, and holds the Dean Zutes Chair in Biology of the Aging Brain.

Goldman moved to Copenhagen in 2015 from Rochester, where he had been since in 2003. Prior to then, he was at the Weill Medical College of Cornell University, where he was the Nathan Cummings Professor of Neurology. A summa cum laude graduate of the University of Pennsylvania, he obtained his PhD with Fernando Nottebohm at the Rockefeller University in 1983, and his MD from Cornell in 1984. Dr. Goldman interned in Medicine and did his residency in Neurology at New York Hospital-Cornell and the Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center, before joining the Cornell faculty.

Dr. Goldman is interested in cell genesis and regeneration in the adult brain, with a focus on the use of stem and progenitor cells in treating demyelinating and neurodegenerative diseases. His lab focuses on the use of stem and progenitor cells for the treatment of neurodegenerative disorders such as Huntington’s Disease, as well as for the treatment of the pediatric myelin diseases and multiple sclerosis. He also has a strong interest in the conversion of resident stem and progenitor cells into brain cancers; clinically, he is additionally board certified in neuro-oncology. He has published over 200 papers in his field, most as first or senior author.

Dr. Goldman is a recipient of the Jacob Javits Neuroscience Investigator Award of the NIH, and was co-awarded the 2014 Novo Nordisk Foundation Laureate Award with Maiken Nedergaard. He has been elected to the Academia Europeae, the Association of American Physicians and American Society for Clinical Investigation, as well as the American Neurological Association. Dr. Goldman remains active clinically, with subspecialty interests in myelin disease as well as in neuro-oncology, and is an emeritus chairman of Rochester’s Department of Neurology (2008-2012). He serves on several NIH committees, and served as a member of the FDA Cellular, Tissue and Gene Therapy Advisory Committee. His work is currently supported by NINDS, NIMH, the NY State Stem Cell Research Board (NYSTEM), the Mathers Charitable and Adelson Medical Research Foundations, the ALS Association, the CHDI Foundation, the Progressive MS Alliance, the PML Consortium, the National MS Society, and the Novo Nordisk Foundation.