The page cannot be displayed because you are using Internet Explorer version 8 or lower.

Please consider upgrading your browser here

We use cookies on this website. By using the website you accept our use of cookies. Accept



Kristoffer Larsen from Fussingø Naturbørnehave (Nature Childcare Centre) in Randers and Gitte Laurentiussen (left) and Annette Cronval from Midtbyens Sciencehus in Hillerød have been chosen as the first recipients of the Novo Nordisk Foundation’s Nature-based Educator Prize.



The Prize is aimed at committed and talented early-childhood educators working in childcare centres in Denmark with planned learning topics focusing on nature and natural phenomena.

The Prize recognizes and publicizes extraordinary efforts in early-childhood education that provide children a positive experience of nature, numbers and science.

The Prize is awarded annually and is divided into two prizes: one for eastern Denmark and one for western Denmark. Each prize is DKK 100,000, divided into a personal award of DKK 50,000 and DKK 50,000 for the childcare centre. The award given to the childcare centre is to be used for developing early-childhood education with the planned learning topics, such as acquiring equipment for technical or nature experiments, upgrading classrooms and outdoor areas or continuing education.

The Prize is awarded to an early-childhood educator based on the nomination of the manager of the childcare centre. The children, parents and colleagues may suggest a candidate to the manager, who makes the nomination using the link under the application details above. One or more educators and teams of up to three early-childhood educators from the same childcare centre may be nominated. If the Prize is awarded to a team, the team members share the personal award amount. Educators from the same childcare centre are not eligible to receive the Prize in the 4 years after a Prize is awarded to that childcare centre.

The Foundation Committee on Teacher Prizes selects the successful nominees for the Prize. The Committee comprises:

  • Claus Michelsen, Professor and Director, Laboratory for Coherent Learning and Education, University of Southern Denmark, Odense (Chair)
  • Lars Brian Krogh, Associate Professor, VIA University College, Aarhus
  • Thorleif Frøkjær, Associate Professor, University College Copenhagen
  • Marianne Johansson, Associate Professor, Nordsjællands Grundskole og Gymnasium
  • Helle Houkjær, Teacher, Krogårdsskolen

The Prize will be awarded at the Prize recipient’s childcare centre.


Related News