The page cannot be displayed because you are using Internet Explorer version 8 or lower.

Please consider upgrading your browser here

We use cookies on this website. By using the website you accept our use of cookies. Accept



Jens Valdemar Madsen (second from left), Randers Realskole, and Aff Hjarnø (second from right), Store Heddinge School, have been selected as the 2017 prize recipients. Here they are flanked by their respective principals: Hans Myhrmann, Randers (far left) and Thomas Duelund Gravsen (far right), Store Heddinge.



The Prize is aimed at committed and talented teachers of physics and chemistry, biology, geography and mathematics in Denmark.

The purpose of the Prize is to recognize and publicize extraordinary efforts in stimulating the interest of children and young people in science in grades 7–9 in primary and lower-secondary schools.

The Prize is awarded annually and is divided into two prizes: one for eastern Denmark and one for western Denmark. Each prize is DKK 250,000, divided into a personal award of DKK 50,000 and DKK 200,000 for the school. The award given to the school is to be used for developing science teaching, such as acquiring new equipment for experiments, upgrading classrooms or continuing education.

The Prize is awarded to a primary and lower-secondary schoolteacher based on the nomination of the principal. The students, parents and colleagues may all suggest a candidate to the principal, who makes the nomination using the link under the application details above. One or more teachers and teams of up to three teachers may be nominated. If the Prize is awarded to a team, the team members share the personal award amount. Teachers from the same school are not eligible to receive the Prize in the 4 years after a Prize is awarded to that school.


The Foundation Committee on Teacher Prizes selects the successful nominees for the Prize. The Committee comprises:

  • Claus Michelsen, Professor and Director, Laboratory for Coherent Learning and Education, University of Southern Denmark, Odense (Chair)
  • Jan Sølberg, Associate Professor, Department of Science Education, University of Copenhagen
  • Lars Brian Krogh, Associate Professor, VIA University College, Aarhus
  • Thorleif Frøkjær, Associate Professor, University College UCC, Copenhagen
  • Hanne Møller Andersen, Associate Professor, Aalborg Cathedral School
  • Aff Hjarnø, Teacher, Store Heddinge School


The Prize will be awarded at the Big Bang Conference on the evening of 5 April 2018. The Prize recipients will participate in the Conference and receive accommodation. They will also be invited to take part in a panel debate with the recipients of the Foundation’s other prizes for: primary science teachers; upper-secondary science teachers; and science teachers at teacher colleges. The panel debate will take place at the Big Bang Conference on 6 April 2018 from 11:15 to 12:00. Sebastian Klein will chair the debate.


Related News