The page cannot be displayed because you are using Internet Explorer version 8 or lower.

Please consider upgrading your browser here

We use cookies on this website. By using the website you accept our use of cookies. Accept



Thomas Dyreborg Andersen, Associate Professor, University College UCC, Copenhagen received the Novo Nordisk Foundation Prize for Science Teachers at Teacher Colleges, which was awarded for the first time in 2018.



The Prize is aimed at committed and talented teachers at teacher colleges who teach science and technology, physics and chemistry, biology, geography and mathematics in Denmark.

The purpose of the Prize is to recognize and publicize extraordinary efforts in stimulating an interest in science among the next generation of primary and lower-secondary schoolteachers.

The Prize is awarded annually. The prize is DKK 250,000, divided into a personal award of DKK 50,000 and DKK 200,000 for the university college. The award given to the university college is to be used for developing science teaching, such as acquiring new equipment for experiments, upgrading classrooms and facilities or development projects.

The Prize is awarded to a teacher based on the nomination of the rector or dean. The student teachers and colleagues may all suggest a candidate to the rectors, who make the nomination using the link under the application details above. One or more teachers and teams of up to three teachers from the same teacher college may be nominated. If the Prize is awarded to a team, the team members share the personal award amount.

The Foundation Committee on Teacher Prizes selects the successful nominee for the Prize. The Committee comprises:

  • Claus Michelsen, Professor and Director, Laboratory for Coherent Learning and Education, University of Southern Denmark, Odense (Chair)
  • Lars Brian Krogh, Associate Professor, VIA University College, Aarhus
  • Thorleif Frøkjær, Associate Professor, University College Copenhagen
  • Marianne Johansson, Associate Professor, Nordsjællands Grundskole og Gymnasium
  • Helle Houkjær, Teacher, Krogårdsskolen

The Prize was awarded at the Big Bang Conference on 5 April 2018. On the following day, the Prize recipient took part in a panel debate with the recipients of the Foundation’s other prizes for: primary science teachers; lower-secondary science teachers; and upper-secondary science teachers.