Apply for grants

Committee for Data Science – 2021

The Committee for Data Science is an ad hoc committee that implements the Board of the Foundation’s decision to award grants within the NNF Data Science Initiative in Denmark.

The 2021 granting budget is DKK 172 million, allocated to the Data Science Collaborative Research Programme (DKK 60 million), the Data Science Research Infrastructure Programme (DKK 52 million), and the Data Science Investigator grants (DKK 60 million).

The 2021 Committee consists of 13 international experts in data science, consisting of a Chair and 12 members. The Board of the Foundation annually selects new members of the Committee in accordance with the general rules covering the Foundation’s committees.

Gunnar von Heijne


Professor in Biochemistry, Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics, Stockholm University, Sverige

Olli-Pekka Kallioniemi


Professor in Molecular Medicine, Director, SciLifeLab, Karolinska Institute, FIMM, Sweden

Isabel Rocha


Pro-rector for Innovation and Entrepreneurship, Instituto de Tecnologia Química e Biológica António Xavier, NOVA University Lisbon, Portugal

David T Jones


Professor in Bioinformatics, Department of Computer Science, University College London, United Kingdom

Alexandre Tkatchenko


Professor in Theoretical Condensed Matter Physics, Faculty of Science, Technology and Medicine, University of Luxemburg, Luxemburg

Markus Ralser


Professor of Biochemistry, Head of Department, Molecular Biology of Metabolism Laboratory, Francis Crick Institute, United Kingdom and Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin, Germany

Alfonso Valencia


Professor, Director of Department, Computational Biology, Life Sciences Department, Barcelona Supercomputing Center, Spain

Detlef Weigel


Professor in Molecular Biology, Director, Max Planck Institute for Developmental Biology, Tübingen, Germany

John Danesh


Professor in Epidemiology and Medicine, MD, Head of Department, Department of Public Health and Primary Care, University of Cambridge, United Kingdom

Daniel Cremers


Professor in Informatics and Mathematics, Chair of Computer Vision and Artificial Intelligence, Center for Machine Learning, TU Munich, Germany

Fredrik Kahl


Professor in Computer Science, Computer Vision Group, Departement of Electrical Engineering, Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden

Chris Holmes


Professor in Biostatistics, Departments of Statistics & Nuffield Department of Medicine, University of Oxford, United Kingdom

Nataša Pržulj


Professor in Biomedical Data Science, Integrative Computational Network Biology, Life Sciences Department, Barcelona Supercomputing Center, Spain and Department of Computer Science, University College London, United Kingdom