Apply for grants

Committee for Data Science – 2022

The Committee for Data Science is an ad hoc committee that implements the Board of the Foundation’s decision to award grants within the NNF Data Science Initiative in Denmark.

The 2022 granting budget is DKK 170 million, allocated to the Data Science Collaborative Research Programme (DKK 60 million), the Data Science Research Infrastructure Programme (DKK 40 million), and the Data Science Investigator grants (DKK 70 million).

The 2022 Committee consists of 13 international experts in data science, consisting of a Chair and 12 members. The Board of the Foundation annually selects new members of the Committee in accordance with the general rules covering the Foundation’s committees.

Olli-Pekka Kallioniemi


Professor in Molecular Medicine, Karolinska Institute, FIMM, Sweden
Director, SciLifeLab, Sweden

Isabel Rocha


Pro-rector for Innovation and Entrepreneurship, Instituto de Tecnologia Química e Biológica António Xavier, NOVA University Lisbon, Portugal

David T Jones


Professor in Bioinformatics, Department of Computer Science, University College London, United Kingdom

Alexandre Tkatchenko


Professor in Theoretical Condensed Matter Physics, Faculty of Science, Technology and Medicine, University of Luxemburg, Luxemburg

Markus Ralser


Professor of Biochemistry, Molecular Biology of Metabolism Laboratory, Francis Crick Institute, United Kingdom
Head of Institute, Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin, Germany

Alfonso Valencia


Professor, Director of Department, Computational Biology, Life Sciences Department, Barcelona Supercomputing Center, Spain

Detlef Weigel


Professor in Molecular Biology, Director, Max Planck Institute for Developmental Biology, Tübingen, Germany

Daniel Cremers


Professor in Informatics and Mathematics, Chair of Computer Vision and Artificial Intelligence, Center for Machine Learning, TU Munich, Germany

Chris Holmes


Professor in Biostatistics, Departments of Statistics & Nuffield Department of Medicine, University of Oxford, United Kingdom

Marieke Kuijjer


Group Leader, Centre for Molecular Medicine Norway, University of Oslo, Norway
Assistant Professor in Biomedicine, Leiden University Medical Center, the Netherlands

Petia Radeva


Professor in Computer Vision and Deep Learning, Dept. of Mathematics and Computer Science, University of Barcelona, Spain

Barbara Caputo


Professor, Visual And Multimodal Applied Learning Laboratory, Politecnico di Torino, Italy

Johan Lundin


Professor of Medical Technology, Department of Global Public Health, Karolinska Institute, Sweden
Research Director, Institute for Molecular Medicine Finland, University of Helsinki, Finland