Apply for grants

Committee on Novo Nordisk Foundation Challenge Programme 2020 – Biomedicine and Health Sciences

The Committee implements the Board of the Foundation’s decision to award the Foundation’s Challenge Programme grants that supports research within annually decided research themes. In 2020 the theme within Biomedicine and Health Sciences is Neurodegenerative Diseases in an Aging Population.

The Board has established a grant budget of DKK 480 million for the entire Challenge Programme in 2020, for large programme grants, each of DKK 30-60 million.

The Board selects the committee members among international experts in the fields of the annual research theme in accordance with the general rules covering the Foundation’s committees.

The current members of the Committee are listed below.

Dag Aarsland


Professor Dag Aarsland, Stavanger University Hospital, Norway and King's College London, United Kingdom.

Anne Eckert


Professor Anne Eckert, University of Basel, Switzerland.

Paula I Moreira


Assistant Professor Paula I Moreira, University of Coimbra, Portugal.

Paul Matthews


Professor Paul Matthews, Imperial College London, United Kingdom.

Alexander Drzezga


Professor Alexander Drzezga, University of Cologne, Germany.

Alexandra Durr


Professor Alexandra Durr, Institut du Cerveau et de la Moelle épinière (ICM), Pitié-Salpêtrière Hospital, Sorbonne Université, Paris.