Apply for grants

Committee on Novo Nordisk Foundation Challenge Programme 2020 – Natural and Technical Sciences

The Committee implements the Board of the Foundation’s decision to award the Foundation’s Challenge Programme grants that supports research within annually decided research themes. In 2020 the theme within Natural and Technical Sciences is Quantum simulators for unravelling complex processes in nature.

The Board has established a grant budget of DKK 480 million for the entire Challenge Programme in 2020, for large programme grants, each of DKK 30-60 million.

The Board selects the committee members among international experts in the fields of the annual research theme in accordance with the general rules covering the Foundation’s committees.

The current members of the Committee are listed below.

Tommaso Calarco


Professor, Head of Institute, Quantum Control, Forschungszentrum Jülich, Germany

Daniel Loss


Professor, Department of Physics, University of Basel, Switzerland

Vivien Kendon


Reader, Department of Physics, Durham University, United Kingdom

Enrique Solano


Professor, Department of Physical Chemistry, University of the Basque Country, Bilbao, Spain

Winfried Hensinger


Professor, Department of Physics and Astronomy, University of Sussex, United Kingdom

Hugues de Rietmatten


Professor, Institute of Photonic Sciences, Barcelona, Spain