Apply for grants

New Chair of the Committee on Nursing Research

Bente Appel Espensen is the new Chair of the Novo Nordisk Foundation's Committee on Nursing Research.

Bente Appel Esbensen, Research Director, Glostrup Hospital, and Associate Professor, University of Copenhagen, is elected new Chair of the Novo Nordisk Foundation’s Committee on Nursing Research. Bente Appel Esbensen succeeds Lis Adamsen, Professor and Research Director, University of Copenhagen and Rigshospitalet, who leaves the committee.

Bente Appel Esbensen has been a member of the Committee on Nursing Research since January 1, 2009.

– I am delighted with the confidence I am being shown. The Novo Nordisk Foundation is crucial for the research conducted in Denmark, and contributing to the Foundation’s work is a privilege. I hope that the research within the Committee’s field will continue to make a difference for people’s health, says Bente Appel Esbensen.

Bente Appel Esbensen’s chairmanship began on January 1, 2014.

Along with Lis Adamsen, Associate Professor Hanne Kronborg, Aarhus University, also left the Committee on January 1. The two are replaced by Professor Kirsten Lomborg, Aarhus University, and Professor Ingrid Egerod, Rigshospitalet.

– The Novo Nordisk Foundation welcomes Bente Appel Esbensen in her new role as Chair of the Committee on Nursing Research. We welcome Kirsten Lomborg and Ingrid Egerod as well. We are looking forward to working together. The Foundation also thanks Lis Adamsen for the skillful work as chair. We are also grateful to Hanne Kronborg for her extensive efforts in the Committee, says Birgitte Nauntofte, CEO of the Novo Nordisk Foundation.

The Committee on Nursing Research awards project grants and funds for co-funded PhD and postdoctoral scholarships within nursing research in Denmark. The Committee has four members, all of whom must be nurses with a research background in nursing. The Board of the Foundation selects the members for a 5-year term based on nominations from the Committee.