Committee on Nursing Research

Committee on Nursing Research

The Committee on Nursing Research implements the Board of the Foundation’s granting decision for the support of projects and fellowships within nursing research in Denmark.

The Board has decided to establish a yearly grant budget of DKK 23.25 million, allocated to research projects (DKK 3 million), ph.d. scholarships (DKK 6 million), postdoc fellowships (DKK 6.6 million), and an annual large research programme (DKK 7.5 million), within this field of research.

Additionally, the committee organizes a yearly seminar for nursing research – the Novo Nordisk Foundation Nursing Research Day, in collaboration with the Foundation.

The committee was established in 1996 and its members are all nurses with a research background in nursing.

The Board of the Foundation selects the committee members in accordance with the general rules covering the Foundation’s committees.

The current members of the committee are listed below.

The committee's 4 members

Mary Jarden
Professor, Senior Researcher at the Department of Haematology, Centre for Cancer and Organ Diseases, Rigshospitalet; Department of Clinical Medicine, University of Copenhagen, Denmark.
Has been a member since 2017.
Tone Rustøen
Researcher, Department of Research and Development, Emergency Department, Oslo University Hospital; Professor at the Faculty of Medicine, University of Oslo, Norway.
Has been a member since 2017.
Pia Dreyer
Professor in Nursing, Department for Intensive Care Medicine, Aarhus University Hospital.
Professor, Department of Science in Nursing, Department of Public Health, Aarhus University.
Professor II, Department of Global Public Health and Primary Care, University of Bergen.
Has been a member since 2021
Brendan McCormack
Professor, Head of the Divisions of Nursing, Occupational Therapy & Arts Therapies, School of Health Sciences, Queen Margaret University.
Has been a member since 2021.