Apply for grants

The Novo Nordisk Prize – Advances in medical science

The Novo Nordisk Prize recognizes an active scientist who has provided outstanding international contributions to advance medical science for the benefit of people’s lives. The Prize is intended to award and further support biomedical research in Europe.

The Prize is of DKK 5 million (appr. EUR 672,000) and consists of a DKK 4,5 million (appr. EUR 605,000) research grant and a personal award of DKK 0,5 million (appr. EUR 67,000). The Foundation will grant an additional DKK 0,5 million for hosting an international symposium within the recipient’s field(s) of research.

The Foundation welcomes nominations by individual researchers and by research institutions including academic and industrial institutions, and research funding agencies. To be evaluated by the Novo Nordisk Prize Committee, nomination must be submitted electronically.  The nomination and review processes are confidential.


  • Nominees must demonstrate scientific excellence that has led to a major discovery or breakthrough in understanding of human health and disease, prevention, diagnosis and/or treatment of the disease.
  • Nominees must have a current position and an active research program at a public, non-profit research institution and/or in a company based in a European country.
  • Nominees must serve as inspirational leaders and role models for young scientists.
  • Nominees may have any nationalities.
  • Nominators (individual or institution) are not limited in number of nominations.


  • Self-nominations are not accepted
  • Nominators cannot be family members
  • The prize may not be awarded to members of the Novo Nordisk Foundation Board or committee members or to Board members, directors or employees of the Novo Group.

Prize Lecture and Ceremony
After official announcement of the Prize, the recipient gives a lecture at his/her workplace, sponsored by the Foundation. The Foundation’s collaborating partners and the recipient’s guests are invited to the prize ceremony in April, where the prize recipient introduces his or her research for 15–20 minutes. The ceremony takes place in Copenhagen, Denmark.

History of the Prize
The prize, originally DKK 50,000, was first awarded on 16 February 1963. Since then, the amount awarded gradually increased. The prize was called the Novo Prize from 1963 until 1989, when it was renamed the Novo Nordisk Prize. Until 2020 the Prize was given for a Danish contribution. In 2020, it has been decided to change the geographical scope of the prize and from 2021 the prize is awarded for a European contribution.

The 2023 Novo Nordisk Prize
Molly Stevens was awarded the 2023 Novo Nordisk Prize for her pioneering work in innovative bioengineering approaches to pursue the vision of solving key problems in regenerative medicine and biosensing. Read more below about Professor Molly Stevens receiving the Novo Nordisk Prize.

News: “Professor Molly Stevens Receives the Novo Nordisk Prize”

Novo Nordisk Prize 2023 Brochure


Novo Nordisk Prize videos


Molly Stevens is receiving the 2023 Novo Nordisk Prize

Molly Stevens is receiving the 2023 Novo Nordisk Prize

May 2nd, 2023

Travelling low- and middle-income countries in her twenties made Molly M. Stevens realise how completely unequal the world is in access to resources and healthcare. It made her transform her passion for science into something that could make a difference in people’s lives. By designing nanomaterials to interact with biology, Molly M. Stevens and her team are developing advanced drug delivery systems, ultrasensitive biosensing and tissue engineering scaffolds to recreate eyes, bones and heart. For her groundbreaking research venture into the future of medicine, she is receiving the 2023 Novo Nordisk Prize.


Novo Nordisk Prize 2022

Novo Nordisk Prize 2022

April 8th, 2022

The Novo Nordisk Prize 2021

The Novo Nordisk Prize 2021

September 17th, 2021

See previous recipients

Further information
Novo Nordisk Foundation
[email protected]
+45 3527 6603